Food to Keep you Running

Standard

My amazing sister-in-law is runnning a half-marathon in a few days.  I’ve been cooking away trying to find some yummy, low calorie, low carb, high protein, no animal product foods to fill her plates with.

Courtney, this post is for you.

  • Breakfast – along with requesite Beet Juice for breakfast (and snack, lunch and dinner – 2 cups of juice is A LOT when it tastes like dirt) how about a special treat? Save some for a snack later in the day, and don’t forget to share with the kids.

This is my tweaked to death version of a snack I found on Pinterest called Powerballs

I’ve changed it so much, it’s a shadow of the original, so I’m renaming it.  Yummy Balls?  Perhaps not.  I think Granola Balls works for me.

Ingredients (all ingredients are approximate and must be eye-balled or changed to suit your own taste):

1/2 C peanut butter

1/3 C honey

1/4 C ground flaxseed

2 C quick oats (I tried rolled and found the texture too thick and rough)

2 T chia seeds (optional but I couldn’t love these without them)

a dash of vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg

Here’s the fun part – add 2 T each of two (or more) of the following:

  • Chopped Dried Dates
  • Dried Cherries
  • Chopped Walnuts (or almonds)
  • Sunflower Seeds
  • Dark Chocolate Chips
  • Dried Cranberries
  • Unsweetened Coconut Flakes

- you get the idea.

In a large bowl with a hand held mixer cream the peanut butter and honey, then add everything but the oats and mix again.  Finally, add the oats (continue using the mixer if you can/want, or switch to mixing by hand).  Taste (always taste first!).  If you’re satisfied,  roll into 1″ balls and enjoy.   This makes about 25 balls.

Guilty confession:  I fed these to my children for breakfast twice this week.

On to the next idea.

photo from nomeatathlete.com

  • A salad composed of baby kales and spinach, topped with an Almond Flaxseed Patty - recipe here from No Meat Athlete.  I will prepare this and probably personalize it one day soon.
  • Homemade hummus eaten with raw veggies or these awesome zuchinni chips

Recipe for Hummus:

1 Clove Garlic
1 1/2 C chickpeas (or as I like to call them, Garbanzo Beans because it reminds me of this skit) – reserve some liquid just in case you need it.

1/4 C Tahini

juice of 1 lemon – start with half, add as needed

about 1 tsp kosher salt

1 T olive oil -you can use more, but start with less to limit added calories

dash of cumin (want some paprika?  I think that would be good too)

Put it all in your food processor and blend until smooth -if it stays bumpy, add the saved liquid

For zuchinni chips:

Slice 1 or more zuchinnis with the slicer

lay the slices out and salt

let them rest while you

lightly oil the wire racks in your oven (olive oil or spray, whatever you have on hand)

Set your oven to about 250

gently dab the slices with a paper towel.  The salt will cause the zuchinni to release water.  You can skip this “dabbing” step but if you do they’ll take longer to dehydrate in your oven.

dust with whatever spice you want on them.  I loved Montreal Steak Seasoning – don’t worry, there is no MSG in it.

lay the sliced zuchinni out on the oiled racks and let them dry, about 40 minutes in the oven, check often so they don’t burn.

I also tried drying out sweet potato slices the same way – I fed them to the kids with a “sweet” hummus (Garbanzos, white beans, thick coconut milk from a can, molasses, cinnamon and cloves).  They loved the sweet potato chips, not the hummus, I liked the hummus but next time will add jalapeno.

One response »

  1. Ah! Thank you so much! I can’t wait to make all of this stuff. I need a slicer…I don’t even have that kind of grater. I’m stoked about the jalapeno in the hummus. Ahem (intimate moment) while smooth move tea and beet juice had the desired effect I wouldn’t recommend over doing it just before your first time back after your juice fast run. And now you know. HowEver, the run was (in the words of Tony the Tiger) Greeeeeaaaaat! Hey,even if we choose not to eat their foods we can still use their slogans. I felt lite and swift. Kept up a ten minute mile pace for a mile and a half no problem. Can.Not.Wait. for Joplin.

Leave a Reply

